1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Spanish Islands

A list of Spanish islands


Spain has two main clusters of islands, the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands, as well as some smaller groups of islands near Morocco and off the coast of Galicia.

Spanish Islands: Canary Islands

The main Canary Islands of tourist interest are:
  • Fuerteventura
  • Gran Canaria
  • Lanzarote
  • La Palma
The other, lesser known, Canary Islands are Alegranza, Graciosa, Hierro and La Gomera.

Spanish Islands: Balearic Islands

The main Balearic Islands of tourist interest are:
  • Formentera
  • Ibiza
  • Majorca
  • Menorca
The other Balearic Islands are Cabrera, Conillera, Dragonera and Es Vedra.

Spanish Islands: Strait of Gibraltar (Near Morocco)

The following islands are in the Strait of Gibraltar, near Morocco. They are of no touristic interest, or indeed of interest to anyone but Spanish nationalists.
  • Alborán
  • Chafarinas Islands
  • Perejil
  • Peñón de Alhucemas
The isla of Tarifa could also fit into this category, though it is closer to Spain than Morocco (unlike the others in this list).

Spanish Islands: Galicia

The Islas Cies lie off the coast of Galicia, near Pontevedra.

Spanish Islands: Costa Blanca

  • Tabarca
  • Columbretes Islands

Spanish Islands: Costa Brava

  • Illes Medes

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.